Mail by Apple

Apple's email client, unbundled ๐Ÿ“ง

#4 Product of the DayJune 13, 2016
Featured Embed
Reviews
Discussion
MakersThere are no makers yet
You need to become a Contributor to join the discussion.
Ryan Hoover
Ryan HooverHunterPro@rrhoover ยท Founder, Product Hunt
@ow leaked this on Twitter a minute ago. Here's a screenshot of the App Store page: Interesting to see Apple unbundling its pre-installed apps. It's not showing up in the App Store for me yet, but likely very soon.
Upvoteย (25)ยท
Jaime Macias
Jaime Macias@jmacias ยท Product @boost.
@rrhoover @ow I hope they unbundle them all. Would be great to get a new iPhone and set it up clean from no apps.
Upvoteย (28)ยท
Cameron Roe
Cameron Roe@cameronjroe ยท Growth Consultant, Entrepreneur
@jmacias @rrhoover @ow Totally agree. The ecosystem of apps is big enough that third parties have definitely surpassed the quality of Apple's internal apps. They should focus on more on core design language. The current flat design needs to really go away.
Upvoteย (13)ยท
Simon B
Simon B@siburb ยท iOS developer
@jmacias @rrhoover @ow Would be amazing to not have the iOS Mail app opening by default - and be able to choose a default browser!
Upvoteย (18)ยท
Carola Pescio Canale
Carola Pescio Canale@aloracpc ยท Tech Scout
@jmacias @rrhoover @ow I am not super positive about that, but at least they'll be able to release app-specific updates, instead of having to wait for the system update.
Upvoteย (19)ยท
Thomas Burgess
Thomas Burgess@ninjinka ยท Creator of Material Design Palette Deck
@siburb @jmacias @rrhoover @ow That sounds like something I've heard of... something like... Android?
Upvoteย (4)ยท
James Kuang
James Kuang@incyc ยท iOS dev @Fieldlens
Here's the list of unbundled apps https://support.apple.com/en-gb/...
Upvoteย (8)ยท
Will Feldman
Will Feldman@willfeldman3 ยท 16 y/o creator
@incyc I just saw that in the App Store. It's crazy!
Anton Bramsen
Anton Bramsen@anton_bramsen
@incyc was hoping to see Game Center on that list..
Upvoteย (2)ยท
James Kuang
James Kuang@incyc ยท iOS dev @Fieldlens
@anton_bramsen Game Center is already removed from the latest beta
Upvoteย (1)ยท
Anton Bramsen
Anton Bramsen@anton_bramsen
@incyc hadn't heard about that! Great news, thanks!
Joshua Dance
Joshua Dance@joshdance ยท Engineer, Product, athlete, indie hacker
@anton_bramsen @incyc Game Center app is already gone.
Upvoteย (1)ยท
Justin Thorp
Justin Thorp@thorpus ยท Marketing Manager, Oracle Data Cloud
I have to use Apple Mail for work now. I'd love for them to invest in it and make it really great.
Upvoteย (4)ยท
Kees Romkes
Kees Romkes@kees_romkes ยท Head of Product @oply_de
@thorpus why? And have you tried Airmail instead?
Sandis Sauka
Sandis Sauka@sandissauka ยท Master of digital craft Hump, The FixHub
Brad Kovach
Brad Kovach@bradkovach ยท Web Developer, UL
@thorpus Or Outlook.
๐”ป๐•’๐•ช๐•๐•–๐•Ÿ ๐•Š๐•’๐•จ๐•”๐•™๐•ฆ๐•œ
๐”ป๐•’๐•ช๐•๐•–๐•Ÿ ๐•Š๐•’๐•จ๐•”๐•™๐•ฆ๐•œ@askdaylen ยท ๐’ฎ๐“‰๐“Š๐’นโ„ฏ๐“ƒ๐“‰ ๐’ถ๐“ƒ๐’น ๐’ฒ๐’พ๐“€๐’พ๐“…โ„ฏ๐’น๐’พ๐’ถ๐“ƒ ๐’พ๐“ƒ ๐’ฑ๐’ถ๐“ƒ๐’ธโ„ด๐“Š๐“‹โ„ฏ๐“‡
I think they are going to pre-install the app, but give users an option to uninstall it. The store listing will allow users who deleted the app to re-install it.
Upvoteย (4)ยท
Travis A. Clark
Travis A. Clark@travis_a_clark
The benefit to this is that they can also update these apps without a full iOS update.
Upvoteย (2)ยท