Amazon Chime

Frustration-free video calls. Amazon's Skype competitor.

#3 Product of the WeekFebruary 14, 2017
+1

Reviews

Discussion

MakersThere are no makers yet
You need to become a Contributor to join the discussion - Find out how.
946
Niv DrorHiring@nivo0o0 · VC at Shrug Capital
Alexa: Is Amazon taking over the world
88840
Jeff Eisley@jeffeisley · I talk about apps on YouTube <3
@nivo0o0 dead.
23113
Aaron Suplizio@aaronsuplizio · Online Lending, Fintech & VC @ Experian.
@nivo0o0 Amazon is so nailing the frustrations of conference calls with distributed teams in meeting-centric corporate cultures with the video above...i take my life into my own hands everytime i have to punch in a conference call code on the road. Love the positioning.
682043
Emmanuel Lemor@exlemor · Cust. Exp., Prod. Mgmt etc are my world.
@aaronsuplizio @nivo0o0 Actually not really, I suspect they stole the idea from these guys: https://www.uberconference.com [see video] and that video is even more demonstrative of typical issues..
1880
Ben Lang@benln · Shipping
They are
7718
Raj Ajrawat@rajamatage · Google Play & Android Partnerships Lead
@benln I wonder what % of workforce in that total employment figure is fulfillment/blue collar vs highly-skilled labor/engineering. Latter is probably comparable to GOOG & MSFT. Still though, they are everywhere and AWS continues to fuel their investment.
Ryan HooverHunterPro@rrhoover · Founder, Product Hunt
Amazon just released their competitor to Skype, WebEx, Google Hangouts, Zoom (which just raised a massive $100m from Sequoia), etc. Another example of how Amazon is branching into everything from software to hardware to original content to (maybe) trucking company. Sooo, when is Alexa getting a screen? 🤔
1083448
Hadi Farnoud@hadifarnoud
@rrhoover Alexa needs a face
946
Niv DrorHiring@nivo0o0 · VC at Shrug Capital
1518
Jimmy Douglas@jimmydouglas · Tesla
Feed the Machine Learning algorithm! MOAR DATA!
141443
Marius@rasmus1610
@jimmydouglas Haha I waited until someone would see the actual purpose of this :D
1518
Jimmy Douglas@jimmydouglas · Tesla
376729
Habib Khalid@hkhalidz
The UX is just a mess. I cannot believe Amazon would do such a poor job. For now, I am sticking to Skype. Nice try Amazon.
25955
Austin T Storm@austinstorm · Founder, ConsignCloud
@hkhalidz Wait, you can't believe Amazon doesn't care about UX?
506131
Ashwini Sriram@ashwini_sriram · Product Manager, PayPal
@hkhalidz Yeah! There are too many sub-windows and popups. The "Running late" feature is nifty though.
376729
Habib Khalid@hkhalidz
@austinstorm Believing a company cares about something is totally different from delivering a great user experience. The current UX for Chime feels as if it was designed by a machine not human. There's too many moving parts and the user journey is not straight forward. It too me a few minutes just to signup for the tool. Mind you, I am a technical person. How long do you think it would take a nontechnical person to use this? Now, does that mean Amazon is a bad company when it comes to UX, no not at all. In fact, Amazon has released some great products over the years. But this one is not one of them.
7857
Gilles Bertaux@gillesbertaux · Co-founder/CEO @Livestormapp
Still looking a lot "Entrepresy" to me though. Btw Amazon, don't build a webinar software. We got it. Thanks.