Featured

Gmail 5.0

A facelift for Gmail on iOS

Would you recommend Gmail 5.0 to a friend?
MakersThere are no makers yet
DiscussionYou need to become a Contributor to join the discussion - Find out how.
Ryan Hoover@rrhoover · Founder, Product Hunt
My favorite addition: Undo Send This feature has saved me quite a few times in the web version of Gmail (pro tip: enable it in your settings here.)
Troy Osinoff@yo · Angel Investor
@rrhoover One of the most underrated gmail labs innovations.
Tom Redman@redman · Technical Product Manager, Buffer
@rrhoover Also would pay for a decent SMS app that integrates this in a smart way.
Abhinaw Kumar@muzzytree · Product, Growth & Mktg Doctors' Circle
@rrhoover True! but max of 30 sec limit saves meanly 5% of times.
Pedro Fuentes@pedrofuentes · Director of Engineering, Groupon
@rrhoover swipe to archive and delete... sweet, but I'm still missing snooze
yoav hornung@yoavush · Co-founder & CEO, Veed.me. + Coverr.co
@pedrofuentes @rrhoover I second that! it's a waste that swipes to both (!) sides do the same thing..
Kenneth Brøgger-Luplau@kenneth_brogger_luplau
@rrhoover My favorite feature is notifying me that I have written "I've attached a PDF" but haven't attached anything...
Alex @tpbtv
@rrhoover I wouldn't really call this a facelift, they rarely even changed anything other than make the color of the bar on the top red. I still prefer the deafult iOS Mail app, not sure why but sometimes sticking to basics is the best way to go. It's simple, but perfect in every way at the same time. :)
Santiago Merea@santiagomerea · CEO & Founder @ Raised Real
@pedrofuentes @rrhoover there's Inbox for that.
Josh Muccio@joshmuccio · thepitch.fm
@rrhoover Yeah I've been using this for the past week. I liked it UNTIL I started seeing ads at the top of the promotions tab. Super annoying so I switched back to Inbox. But I suppose it's only a matter of time before we'll see ads on Inbox as well 😒
Scott Jacques@scottjacques
@rrhoover Can you help escalate the known issue of safari as default and hard coded browser for links from Gmail 5.0 (it is a known issue & pretty major oversight by google product team). See: https://productforums.google.com...
Josh Buchea@joshbuchea · Software Developer
@pedrofuentes @rrhoover Yes! The one killer Inbox feature that the Gmail app is missing: snooze!
Andrew Roth@rothandrewm · Customer Success at RocketBolt
@kenneth_brogger_luplau @rrhoover It's embarrassing how often this saves me :)
Antoine Plu@antoineplu · Freelance Designer • Ex @Algolia
So they just killed Inbox by having the exact same design, (almost all) features, interactions on Gmail? 🤔
Manny Orduña@manny_orduna
@antoineplu tweet both gmail and inbox the other day wondering about differences. Seems Inbox keeps it neater with bundles though
Jason Briscoe@jbriscoe
@antoineplu missing two of my favourite features however – Reminders & the ability to save web links to your Inbox.
Rahul Ramchand@rahulr047 · Botmonster 🔥
@antoineplu Lololol
Reony T@megaroeny · Designer & EV Advocate
@antoineplu really? I don't see reminders or snoozing. If they have that I would start using Gmail app. Not on Android either.
Nick Hallam@nhallam · Product strategy and design
@jbriscoe saving web links is awesome. Killed pocket for me
Niv Dror@nivo0o0 · Writer/Social Editor @ProductHunt
The new Gmail app has: ✅ Swipe to archive! ✅ Undo Send! ✅ Did I mention swipe to archive!! 🎉🎉🎉
Chuck Pos@raritan
@nivo0o0 Who uses Archive anyhow
Fabio Bracht@fabiobracht
@raritan @nivo0o0 Me. (And, I think, everyone who doesn't get ginormous amounts of email and wants to keep their inbox sanity.)
Chuck Pos@raritan
@fabiobracht @nivo0o0 Maybe I should start trying it. Sounds exhausting though... Also can't you easily Archive in iOS default mail?
Fabio Bracht@fabiobracht
@raritan @nivo0o0 It's no more exhausting than the cognitive exhaustion of having 3 or 4 or 5 digits on your unread mail count. :) And it's easy to start: select every email on your Inbox — every single one — go through the last month or so, deselect everything that looks both actionable and important, then Archive All. If it's older than a month it's not really important — if it was, you would have replied/take action by now. And if there's anything older than a month that is actually important, it will come back to the top of your inbox at some point. Relax. From this point on, it's just a matter of not letting the emails pile on again. Archive everything that's not important or actionable. Create filters to help you with this. (Google Inbox's automatic "bundles" are great for this.) Deflect emails to come back another day if they're important but you won't be taking action on them today. If you start to go too many days without reaching Inbox Zero and too many mails are piling up on your Inbox (for me this threshold is 15, 20 max), make a concentrated effort to get to Inbox Zero that day and enjoy the peace of mind that comes with it.
Chuck Pos@raritan
@fabiobracht @nivo0o0 My issue is for search (on iOS mail app) the results do not show if it's been archived
Fabio Bracht@fabiobracht
@raritan @nivo0o0 Simple solution: don't use iOS Mail app. Or at least have the Inbox app installed and ready for when you need to search. But at this point I would just suggest using the Inbox app entirely — it's better anyway. Plus, you're using email from Google, makes more sense to use it on a Google app than on an Apple one.
S. Suchanowski@ssuchanowski
@nivo0o0 "Swipe to archive!" -- seriously? doesn't every email app do that?
Rob Bettis@robbettis · COO @ Market Street Partners
Has Gmail brought unified inbox to iOS yet? Seems like Android has had it for so long.
Manny Orduña@manny_orduna
@robbettis ༼ つ◕_◕༽つ GIVE UNIFIED INBOX. I don't understand why this option isn't available.
adam mashaal@adammash · Founder of Being. East Village, NYC
@mannyorduna @robbettis Totally - this needs to be at the top of their feature list!
Manny Orduña@manny_orduna
@adammash @robbettis The technology just isn't here yet!
Ken Rossi@kenrossi · CardStack
@mannyorduna @robbettis it's on android they do this refresh and still not available. I am staying with inbox mainly because I love bundles..
Manny Orduña@manny_orduna
@kenrossi @robbettis same, I'm with inbox but hate that there is no unified inbox.
Guy Malachi@guy · Chief Product Officer at Showbox
Dammit the default view is now always "Important & Unread". Even if you switch views manually, it switches back next time (and you can't change the default anywhere)
aprudy@aprudy · Sociology Professor
@guy I hate this. I want to determine what's important to me.
Richard Goodwin@rgoodwin · Product Manager, Unrepentant Nerd
@aprudy @guy Agree. I'm carrying a iPhone 7 Plus now, and they managed to take up so much more of the screen with garish defaults that it actually lost information density and personal relevance.
aprudy@aprudy · Sociology Professor
@rgoodwin @guy You and me both. I don't mind having the ability to shift to Important and Unread but I want to start with a chronological Inbox.
Mike Underell@michael_underell · Data Analyst, Enterprise @ Hootsuite
@aprudy @rgoodwin @guy Could not agree more.