I'm Allison Esposito Medina, founder of Tech Ladies, AMA ๐Ÿ”ฅ

Allison Esposito Medina
24 replies
I'm Allison Esposito Medina. I founded a bootstrapped community and business called Tech Ladies in 2016, which has since grown to 50,000 members. We help women find jobs in tech, accelerate their careers, and support each other. Before this, I worked in marketing and product at Foursquare, at a startup called Oyster, and at Google. I'm passionate about turning side projects into a full-time jobs, working remotely, bootstrapping, community, and diversity and inclusion in tech.

Replies

Aaron O'Leary
Hi Allison! Thanks for joining us, big fan of what you do. I'm curious, what was the biggest challenge to growing Tech Ladies at the beginning and how did you overcome this?
Allison Esposito Medina
@aaronoleary Hi Aaron! The biggest challenge in the very beginning was just figuring out how to stay focused since there are SO many things this community needs and wants. For our group in particular, the three biggest things that emerged were 1) jobs 2) paid membership and 3) webinars/opportunities to learn/advance their careers. Once we figured that out the challenge was (and remains) staying focused!
Amrith
Thank you for doing this AMA @techladyallison ๐Ÿ™Œ I'm curious what effective strategies you've used to drive traffic to Tech Ladies from social media and what strategies you plan on using to grow social media as a channel ๐Ÿš€
Allison Esposito Medina