Product Hunt 4.0

Now with Reviews, Badges, Web Links, and more ✨

#1 Product of the MonthAugust 2017
+2

Product Hunt is the place to discover your next favorite thing, now with badges, descriptions, reviews, and a bunch more.

Reviews

 +461 reviews
  • Arun SathiyaMarketing, Freshworks
    Pros: 

    Totally. It's interesting what Product Hunt has come to. People are now calling it the "Wikipedia of products" :)

    Cons: 

    I hope to see an Android app. That's about it. 🙏

    Product Hunt 4.0 is the best that has happened to Product Hunt yet. Easily one of my most favorite websites these days, and I see myself coming back daily to maintain my streak. I am at a 20 day streak now and I hope to see badges evolve with daily streaks - some sort of perks for people coming more often?

  • RamyFounder @ Letter fuel
    Pros: 

    If used correctly, way more useful information about each product.

    Cons: 

    Can be quite visually overwhelming initially. Also, the "website" link could stand out a bit more.

    This update is super useful for people deciding whether or not to use a product. Sometime you want to do a deep dive into a product before deciding whether or not to use it.

    The "😻 reviews" feature, as well as the "🔗 Around the Web" section makes this deep dive super easy.

Discussion

You need to become a Contributor to join the discussion - Find out how.
Ryan Hoover
Maker
@rrhoover · Founder, Product Hunt
Product Hunt started as a simple list, surfacing new products to the world. Since then its evolved into a database of products with videos, images, conversation, related products, and much more, curated by the community. We've been quietly working on some big updates to the product pages. Our goal: make product pages more useful for the community and makers. Today we're introducing some additions: 🏆 Badges — You'll notice some product are awarded a badge to highlight their popularity and past achievements (e.g. “#1 Product of the Month on May, 2017”). Example: Not Hotdog ✏️ Descriptions — Descriptions help illustrate what the product does, who it's for, and how it works at a glance. Example: Membit 😻 Reviews — Upvotes are a simple, powerful method of curation but they don't necessarily represent the “quality” of a product nor is it a fair metric when comparing products. Now you can write reviews to help others discover products you love (and those you don't). Example: My review of Spoonbill 🔗 Around the Web — We often see people link to news articles, reviews, funding announcements, blog posts, and other web links within the comments. Now you can add these links in a dedicated “Around the Web” section to provide more context and give everyone a place to learn more about the product. Example: AirPods 🐤 Social Links — You'll begin to see links to the team's accounts on Twitter, Facebook, Medium, MySpace (j/k), and more. Example: Honey ✌️ Jobs — Often the best time to recruit is on launch day. Now makers can promote their open jobs on their product page by simply adding their AngelList company profile. Example: YC-backed Scale is hiring engineers Next up: We're improving the product submission process to make it much faster to share products with the community and making improvements to the above based on your feedback. Thoughts/ideas/questions!? Let us know. 🙏🏼
Ben Tossell@bentossell · Something new
@rrhoover 🦄
Kyle Stratis@kylestratis · CEO, NASDANQ
@rrhoover These changes are absolutely incredible.
Egbert Oostburg@egbertoostburg
@rrhoover nothing like using your own product to launch your own product #winning =)
Anthony Boschman@spaztik · Web Designer / Developer, Graphic Design
@rrhoover These all sounds awesome, will these features be carried over to the iOS/android app?
Ziv Rubin@ziv_ru · Nanos Gigantum Humeris Insidentes
@rrhoover whoooohoooo!! 👏 👏
Dainis Kanopa@dainiskanopa · CEO at Middle
@rrhoover any paid features coming up in a future?
Patrick Samy@patricksamy · Stoic. Hacker.
@rrhoover already said this to @nickabouzeid but these updates are fantastic and a tremendous contribution to lowering to barrier to entry for young entrepreneurs which is much needed in times like this. Jobs are not coming back, we need to create new ones :) Thanks team <3
Ryan Hoover
Maker
@rrhoover · Founder, Product Hunt
@spaztik we're focused on the web right now so no immediate plans to update the iOS app with these additions (yet!).
Ryan Hoover
Maker
@rrhoover · Founder, Product Hunt
@dainiskanopa we're working on another big project that might have a paid component. Subscribe here for details. 😉
Gorkem Cetin@gorkemcetin · Building Countly analytics platform
@rrhoover Congrats again, and keep up the good work ✌️
Jaoued Ahmed@jaouedahmed · Co-founder, MyAppConverter
@rrhoover This is really cool! Btw, if you plan to update the iOS or Android version, I will be happy to let you use @MyAppConverter. We also taking requests to port to React Native from iOS or Android input :-)
Sven van der Zee@svenvd_zee · Haven't found the next big thing yet
@rrhoover Love it! Congrats!
Eli Weiss@eli_weiss · Tech champion @bhphotovideo
@rrhoover WOW! Never thought it can get so much better!!! PH rocks!
Abhilash Jain@findabhilash · Product Marketing / Growth
@rrhoover This is a substantial update, another great add that I think would be great is if Community members can mark themselves as available for Jobs/Consulting etc , so makers can reach out to them directly.
Vladislav Korobov@vladkorobov · COO of Live Typing
@rrhoover I con't see your review of Spoonbill and how it is look like on a product page, could you point me with a big red arrow?
Andrea Balducci@andrea_balducci
@rrhoover Can't see the review? "Example: My review of Spoonbill (https://www.producthunt.com/post...)"
Rory@iroryd · designer
@rrhoover when will the app get updated?
Seth Louey@sethlouey · 🙌 2016 PH Maker of the Year Nominee
@rrhoover part of me is super happy about these changes and the other part of me is super bummed. We've been working on features like these for BotList, but you beat us to them. Tough being a bootstrapped company. Keep being awesome PH. Love you.
Karina Mitchell@vtvart · Artist & Membit person
@rrhoover amazing!
Arun Sathiya@arunsathiya · Marketing, Freshworks
@rrhoover @spaztik first, let them make an Android app.
Kireeti Varma@kireetivarma · Product Manager at SV.CO
The moment you see Product Hunt on Product Hunt: Inception moment. Pretty slick update!
Arun Sathiya@arunsathiya · Marketing, Freshworks
@kireetivarma This is soon going to be the most-upvoted Product Hunt listing ever. :D
Kireeti Varma@kireetivarma · Product Manager at SV.CO
@arunsathiya lets see. :D
Liam Boogar@liamboogar · Brand Director @ Algolia
Love it! Spent the day overhauling Algolia's previous product pages! Can't wait to use these new features in our next launch :) https://www.producthunt.com/post...
Ryan Hoover
Maker
@rrhoover · Founder, Product Hunt
@liamboogar beauty ✨
Julie Delanoy
Maker
@syswarren · Design at Product Hunt 😻
@liamboogar Thank you for taking the time Liam 💕
Ashley Pearson@theashtube · (AFK #GettingMarried)
Why can't I upvote up to 50 times per product?
Ramy@ramykhuffash · Founder @ Letter fuel
@theashtube The "Claps" feature won't arrive until version 5.0
Ryan Hoover
Maker
@rrhoover · Founder, Product Hunt
@theashtube @ramykhuffash 😉
Kai Gradert@kaigradert · Designer
@theashtube Kitty coins to tip maker 🤑🤑🤑
Product Hunt@producthunt
@theashtube 👏👏👏
so meta, nice work team!
Arun Sathiya@arunsathiya · Marketing, Freshworks
@drew people are already calling it the "Wikipedia of products".