Wandertab by Hitlist

Travel inspiration with every new tab

There are no images or videos added to the gallery.
Add to gallery

Reviews

Discussion

You need to become a Contributor to join the discussion - Find out how.
Ryan HooverPro@rrhoover · Founder, Product Hunt
Smart way to insert travel, something most people think about a couple times a year, into someone's daily routine, @gillianim. This is a really good example of "productized marketing." There's probably a better term for it but similar to content marketing, apps or sites tangential to one's core business can be an effective way to reach new users. KISSmetrics' MyAnalytics (cc @hnshah @Evanish), Crew's How Much To Make An App (cc @mikaelcho), and Front's Inbox Checker are a few examples that come to mind. P.S. This would be a nice addition to @chrismessina's #ChromeNewTabs collection.
Gillian MorrisMakerHiring@gillianim · CEO, Hitlist
@hnshah @Evanish @mikaelcho @chrismessina @rrhoover people think about travel often but rarely get around to turning those aspirations into concrete plans. At @hitlist_app we're very focused on making travel more accessible and approachable, which we do by giving you the most relevant information: what destinations are most affordable, how long it will take you to get there, and if anyone you know lives or has been there. Wandertab was a natural extension to help you discover more places and, as @jedc said above, realize how affordable they can be.
Harry Raymond@harryraymond · Growth @HuggingFace, Product Hunt NYC
@rrhoover Crew has always done a great job with productized marketing. Coffee & Power (list of coffee shops with wifi & plugs), Unsplash (free stock photos that don't suck), How Much to Make an App and Good Mood Board.
rahulcapMakerHiring@rahulcap · Product
@rrhoover Trying to separate "product" from "marketing" is foolish - so I'm not sure you need a special term for when they work together. But, you touched on some of the strategy behind wandertab. The challenge is just making the tradeoff between the cost of building a "tangential" product and the potential impact on growth, etc. In this case - it's just so simple - so we went for it. The only negative so far has been the loss of productivity among the team. :) I admit that it turned out to be more addicting than I expected...credit to @timotje's design/execution.
Jason Keath ⚡️@jasonkeath · Founder and CEO, Social Fresh
@gillianim @hnshah @Evanish @mikaelcho @chrismessina @rrhoover Like Charmin's SitOrSquat app? https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/... Or similarly Johnston&Murphy's Find-A-Shine app: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/...
Chris Messina@chrismessina · Product designer & entrepreneur
@rrhoover done!
Marc Mezzacca@mmezzacca · Founder, CouponFollow
Just installed it. This is an awesome idea and beautiful implementation! Although... I fear I may end up getting distracting, forgetting why I opened the tab, and booking a getaway.. Oh wait is that the point? =)
Gillian MorrisMakerHiring@gillianim · CEO, Hitlist
@mmezzacca very much so! Enjoy!
Jed Christiansen@jedc · Founder, Seed-DB
I installed this yesterday, and what a great experience. Beautiful photos, and it doesn't slow down opening a new tab (like so many poorly written extensions do). It's a great reminder that travel isn't as inaccessible/expensive as you may think!
Dunja Lazic@dunjalazic · Hyper.
Love what Hitlist does, amazing design, flawless execution and great prices!
Jourdan Urbach@jourdanurbach · CTO, Ocho
This is perhaps even more addictive than the native app. Way to go, Hitlist. Sorry, bank account.