Starship

Self-driving robot for local delivery

get it
#3 Product of the DayNovember 02, 2015

Reviews

Discussion

MakersThere are no makers yet
You need to become a Contributor to join the discussion - Find out how.
Dimo Trifonov
Dimo TrifonovHiring@denull · Founder of @feeld
Way too many bad people in our society to trust this lovely machine.
James Mundy
James MundyHunter@_jamesmundy · CTO @ SailConnect
@denull we can't be trusted with nice things.
Dimo Trifonov
Dimo TrifonovHiring@denull · Founder of @feeld
@_jamesmundy it's time to build a city where only the cool kids are. :))
Pedro
PedroHiring@pcbo · Co-founder @ Landing.jobs
@denull would get stolen in a heartbeat...
Ouriel Ohayon
Ouriel Ohayon@ourielohayon · KZen, CEO / Co-founder isai (VC)
@denull exactly my thoughts. though l love the concept. maybe add an electrifier to discourage :)
Xiao
Xiao@xxxxxxiao · Operation
@denull we are not worthy!
Snoop Dogg
Snoop Dogg@snoopdogg · The Doggfather
I need one of these! Gon take a Starship to the moon!
Kelly Kuhn-Wallace
Kelly Kuhn-Wallace@kkdub · 🎯Strategist for Hire
@snoopdogg You gonna call it Enterprise?
James Mundy
James MundyHunter@_jamesmundy · CTO @ SailConnect
A new take on self-driving delivery robots from two of the creators of Skype. The robot fits a couple of shopping bags inside and navigates the local area via pavements at around 4mph. Apparently they will be based at supermarkets or near shops in shipping containers from where they will deliver to the local area for <£1. Whilst I'm not sure on the legality of these being on the pavements, I think it's far more achievable in the short term than delivery by air, not to mention the fact it can carry a lot more weight. http://www.telegraph.co.uk/techn...
Gabriel Loftus
Gabriel Loftus@gloftus1 · Product Manager at Facebook
@_jamesmundy I suppose the question on everyone's mind is how do they stop people stealing these/the contents!
James Mundy
James MundyHunter@_jamesmundy · CTO @ SailConnect
@gloftus1 @_jamesmundy yea, I agree. The first thing that sprung to my friend's mind was: "what's to stop me throwing it into a river" haha I guess it has cameras so could record a culprit (and London has a ton of CCTV) but still, people can't be trusted!
Silviu St
Silviu St@silviust7 · iOS Developer
@_jamesmundy Give them wings and remove those wheels should reduce stealing number
Snoop Dogg
Snoop Dogg@snoopdogg · The Doggfather
holler at me
Josh Barkin
Josh Barkin@joshbarkin · Co-founder @ Janis.ai
@snoopdogg Sup Dogg
James Burton
James Burton@jamesburton69 · @jamesburton69
Abe Storey
Abe Storey@abe_storey · Entrepreneur & Growth Marketer
@snoopdogg When the Dogg asks he shall receive. Sup Dogg.
Braden Hamm
Braden Hamm@bradenhamm · Designer / Founder Gumwall.com
@snoopdogg holler!
Taylor Hook
Taylor Hook@hook_taylor
@snoopdogg You gonna use this to deliver the medicinal type groceries? That would be groovy like a drive-in movie. :)
Lucas Lindsey
Lucas Lindsey@urbnist · Executive Director, Domi Station
Given that it sticks to sidewalks and paved paths, could see this applied to golf course and retirement communities (Peachtree City or Sun City both great examples--miles of cart paths). Especially helpful for elderly with reduced mobility.