Medium Membership

$5/month for an ad-free experience with premium content

get it
#1 Product of the DayMarch 22, 2017

Around the web

Reviews

 
  • Ben TossellPartner, The Upstarters
    Pros: 

    Awesome content & one of the best platforms to pay for quality

    Cons: 

    I want to see more still. The feed has changed since launch and it's getting better!

    As there is so many places to consume so much content, it is refreshing to see Medium execute so well in this space for such a small price. Will likely be a long-time paying member.

Discussion

You need to become a Contributor to join the discussion - Find out how.
Ryan HooverPro@rrhoover · Founder, Product Hunt
It's no surprise Medium's heading in this direction after @ev's blog post announcing a change in their business model. I'm hopeful and curious to see how its received, but it's unclear what type of content $5/mo will buy you right now. Curious to hear peoples' thoughts on this!
Neil Sandhu@neilsandhu · Founder, It's the Bit
@rrhoover maybe it's just me, but it's also unclear what not paying gets you. Does Medium have ads? (I used to use it daily, but must confess haven't as much in recent months but don't think I've noticed ads before). Is this in conjunction with starting to run ads for those who don't pay?
Diego Moreira@_diego_moreira · Product Development, Estilingue Company
@rrhoover @ev I'm curious too. Maybe writers will be able to publish free and paid posts, and only membership users will be able to access paid content. I'm more curious how will be the payment process for writers.
Naomi Assaraf@nassaraf · CMO, Technophile, pancake lover.
@rrhoover @ev I think $5/mo is to test drop off rate / price acceptance. Idea: Lots of companies host their corporate blogs on Medium, so why not give them the ability to sponsor paid memberships to have more inclusivity on Medium Premium? It would be a tax write off for them, and it would grow Medium's premium memberships too. Win-win.
Lyondhur@lyondhur · SM UX/IxD Designer Agile/Scrum Coach
@rrhoover it's only a matter of time until the vast majority services go premium, no matter how large is the funding pocket. I'm curious to see if that's going to be enough, given that they are now crossing that "need-cash" line.. On a second note, we do not exactly know whether they ad model is profitable and well engaged enough to sustain such modification in their biz model. It sure will be interesting to see how this unfolds.
Sebastián León@sebfeed · Builder. Dreamer. Founder @ StriveSDK 📸
@rrhoover @ev seems like a tough business, there's so much awesome free content out there. I wish the Medium team the best with this new direction! Charging subscribers for great articles definitely helps keep Medium aligned with the customers, instead of making them the product for advertisers *edited to be less negative
Gabriel Lewis@gabriel__lewis · 🤔
I wish @Twitter would offer a similar monthly service with no ads and premium features. 😄
Chris Messina@chrismessina · 🏆 PH Community Member of the Year!
@gabriel__lewis and fewer trolls?
Rodrigo Prior@rodrigoprior · CEO @ Welearn
@chrismessina @gabriel__lewis an anti-troll tool could be available on plugins marketplace :P
Drew MeyersHiring@drewmeyers · Co-Founder, Horizon
@gabriel__lewis @twitter me too... I'd pay
Niv DrorHiring@nivo0o0 · Words @ProductHunt & @AngelList
Akshay Chauhan@akshayspaceship · UX Designer
Never noticed any ads on Medium before. Maybe I am too good at skimming through content..
Lisa Dziuba@lisadziuba · Swift Learner & FlawlessApp.io Founder
@akshayspaceship I haven't seen adds as well
Eon@eonpilot · Swift dev @ eon.codes
@lisadziuba @akshayspaceship Are there ads on the internet? Whaa 😜
Varun Dave@varundave · Varun Dave
@akshayspaceship There are ads. I am seeing Twenty20 Stock Photos ad since couple of weeks I think. Though it's aesthetics are better so it's easy to overlook and not be annoyed by it like FB ads.
Andrew EttingerHunterHiring@andrewett · PMM @ Twitter, Previously @ Product Hunt
I'll pay to watch @caseynewton's Series
Ben Tossell@bentossell · Partner, The Upstarters
Andrew EttingerHunterHiring@andrewett · PMM @ Twitter, Previously @ Product Hunt
@bentossell @caseynewton what's your venmo username?
Casey Newton@caseynewton · Silicon Valley editor, The Verge
Sumeet Shah@pe_feeds · Coming soon
@caseynewton @andrewett That's a weird venmo username
Andrew EttingerHunterHiring@andrewett · PMM @ Twitter, Previously @ Product Hunt
@caseynewton I'll Snapcash you