Featured

Flash by Facebook

Facebook's Snapchat clone

MakersThere are no makers yet
DiscussionYou need to become a Contributor to join the discussion - Find out how.
Tobias Naftali@tobiasnaftali · Software Developer
How do I report a product?
Binoy Xavier Joy@binoyxj · Technology Evangelist | Artist 🎨
@tobiasnaftali I guess you can have a quick chat with the PH team from the chat bubble towards your right (on web).
Jack Smith@_jacksmith · Serial Entrepreneur & Startup Adviser
@tobiasnaftali report for what?
Adithya Shreshti
Hunter
@adithya · Founder of Startuposphere
@tobiasnaftali If you are using PH on Desk/Laptop - see the 'Flag' option on the right. But why would you want to report it?
Tobias Naftali@tobiasnaftali · Software Developer
@adithya just kidding! For copying Snapchat 😂
Rick Chen@rick_chen1 · making people lazy at instantaccess.io
@tobiasnaftali true, when giants start coping smaller companies, innovation is at risk. Fb, just stop.
Chris Messina@chrismessina · 🏆 PH Community Member of the Year!
I wonder why Facebook went this way on Android, whereas they crammed this into Messenger on iOS...
Austin Sandmeyer@as_austin · Thinker/Student/Rockstar
@chrismessina 100% agree on this. I'm wondering the strategy... 🤔 If it was truly just the UI and product design that made Snapchat so successful the many attempts to copy it would be equally successful. The network effect is important but this feels weird.
Kostas Xiradakis@kostgx · Product Manager at VivaPayments
@as_austin @chrismessina Facebook is consistently trying to undermine Snap's upcoming IPO in order to stop them from raising a gigantic amount of dollars, which would make Snap ultra competitive to them.
Austin Sandmeyer@as_austin · Thinker/Student/Rockstar
@kostgx @chrismessina Well yes, it feels like that is ALL it is doing. Chopping up the experience and throwing stuff at the wall, feels more like their strategy.
Pedro Torres-Mackie@pedrotp · Founder, Quotidian Ventures
@kostgx @as_austin @chrismessina IMHO all this does is show everyone (including equity analysts) how scared FB is of SNAP, which will probably have the opposite effect and bump UP their ipo price
Chen Zeev@bulleitandcoke · Co-founder of Clippy and ClippyCam
@chrismessina A/B testing?
Brandon Giesing@bgiesing39 · Owner, Pravox Networks
@chrismessina They crammed it in Messenger on Android also (Messenger Day launched in v93.0.0.7.69)
@chrismessina Snapchat on Android is (was?) bloated, slow, and poor quality. FB went after emerging markets with a clone focused on performance since people in these markets have lower powered Android phones (not iPhones). https://www.recode.net/2016/11/8...
Taylor Nikolai@taylornikolai · Snapchatter
Snapchat by Facebook
Adithya Shreshti
Hunter
@adithya · Founder of Startuposphere
@taylornikolai Haha! I should have put that as the title instead of 'Flash by Facebook' ;-)
Shashwat Pradhan@shashwatpradhan · CEO/Founder @emberify
Wow even the UI/UX looks same
Steven Rueter@rueter · Developer
What about the very valid Snap “Single mode visual media capture" patent? Does FB just ngaf about that?