Fast.com

Internet speed test, powered by Netflix

#2 Product of the DayMay 18, 2016

Reviews

Discussion

MakersThere are no makers yet
You need to become a Contributor to join the discussion - Find out how.
Nick Rempel@nbrempel · https://rempel.world
This is a really interesting move. I think it is common for ISPs to prioritize traffic to speed testing websites in order to inflate the test numbers. At the same time, many ISPs throttle Netflix use. By aiming to be a popular speed testing site, Netflix empowers the consumers to call out ISPs that are cheating their customers. Normally, an ISP could just add the speed test site to their whitelist for high priority traffic. In this case, that would not only improve the test numbers here but also improve the quality of Netflix streaming since the test uses Netflix's streaming servers!
Alan Garrec@alangarrec · CoworkerCoffee.com
My thoughts exactly @nbrempel - a really smart move by Netflix. A domain like that could easily have cost $1 million and I think we know a company like Netflix doesn't shell out that kind of cash just to build a "simpler" version of speedtest.net
Jack Dweck@jackdweck · Product Manager at Unroll.Me
@alangarrec looks like they also own http://slow.com 😄
Alan Garrec@alangarrec · CoworkerCoffee.com
@jackdweck - yeah I thought so too, but whois is different, and a dude on HN said it's his and he just redirected it: https://news.ycombinator.com/ite... Still - they could buy it 💰
Deron Sizemore@deronsizemore · Owner at famsnap.com
@nbrempel So essentially ISP's can't whitelist this domain without also positively effecting Netflix streaming services?
Rushabh Gandhi@grushabh · Special Projects, CloudFlare
@nbrempel Its a classic 'video platform that does not want to pay for bandwidth' vs ISP move. Similar to https://www.google.com/get/video...
Clément Raffenoux@craffenoux · Co-founder @onecashapp
Ben Tossell@bentossell · Something new
I dont need this. Constantly: SLOW seriously...this is my home WiFi
Ryan Hoover@rrhoover · Founder, Product Hunt
@bentossell I'm so sorry, Ben.
Robert Headley@robertheadley
@bentossell What kind of internet connection do you have?
Mike Holford@mikelholford
Internet speed here at rightclickinspect.com
Ryan Hoover@rrhoover · Founder, Product Hunt
New game! Post a screenshot of your top score. Here's mine from Product Hunt HQ:
Ben Tossell@bentossell · Something new
@rrhoover what a way to make me feel worse
Jack Dweck@jackdweck · Product Manager at Unroll.Me
@rrhoover ...from Unroll.Me HQ 😁
Mihai Anca@ropiku · Full stack engineer at Envoy
Mike Coutermarsh@mscccc · Code @ Product Hunt
Daniel Lee@dleesta · Product Manager
@jackdweck @rrhoover jeez man! put that away :)
Sam Schooler@samschooler · Cereal (like the breakfast) Entrepreneur
@rrhoover From the University of Denver Wifi!
@rrhoover Not Dissapointed
Tony Anastasi@tony_anastasi · Filmmaker, works with startups in China.
@lmaomaxi someones sitting in the server room eh ??
Ming Cheuk@techno246 · Tech enthusiast, co-founder Spark 64 Ltd
@rrhoover from University of Auckland
Jared Schaffer@jbschaff · Founder/Product, The Tribe 🕴 Dallas, TX
@rrhoover from Fort Work coworking space in Dallas
Geoff Rothman@geoff_rothman
@jackdweck btw unroll me is the greatest thing since sliced bread!!
Lachlan Campbell@lachlanjc · Code, apps, design, high school.
@rrhoover Comcast in State College, PA: 29mbps 😟