Featured

Tesla Powerwall

Tesla home battery

Would you recommend Tesla Powerwall to a friend?
MakersThere are no makers yet
DiscussionYou need to become a Contributor to join the discussion - Find out how.
Kristofer™@kristofertm · Founder @ Lamplighter Labs. #7 on PH.
So bad ass... I'm just going to park my battery powered car in the garage of my battery powered home. It's a cool time to be alive.
Adam Sigel@adamsigel · PM @LastPass, Creator @bosproduct
As the price of solar power has dropped to levels rivaling coal, the new issue has become storage. A couple years ago, Hawaii was generating so much solar power it had to halt production because it was putting their grid at risk. Powerwall and Powerpack help address the load shifting issues that solar has suffered from. Elon's analogy of moving from landlines to cell phones was a really good one. Batteries this capable will let people, businesses, and entire communities operate without the need to be tethered to a massive power grid. This is huge.
Rodrigo Prior@rodrigoprior · CEO @ Welearn
@adamsigel Hope to see it working like a global energy network... Would be great if someone can use energy stored on my Powerwall and I earn credits to use someone's energy, as an efficient smart shared grid.
Elizabeth Stavros@elizabethstavro · Co-founder
@rodrigoprior that's an excellent idea.
Adam Sigel@adamsigel · PM @LastPass, Creator @bosproduct
@rodrigoprior Some regulatory hurdles to clear w/r/t buying and selling energy—would you settle for knowing you were always paying the lowest $ for any energy you pulled in from the grid?
Rodrigo Prior@rodrigoprior · CEO @ Welearn
@adamsigel It seems fair enough, but people always expect to get more ;-)
Raul Riera@raulriera · I make things
Beautiful product, but I feel it could use a bit more of explaining on the solar panels. Because you obviously need to install those independently and that will impact the "Solar peak"
Bryan Wynkoop@bryanwynkoop · Marketing @ 1776
Well done, Elon. Ties in nicely with $SCTY. Complete the loop and take this battery storage technology to the ISS on one of your rockets.
Emile Petrone@emilepetrone · CEO, Tindie
For a great breakdown on how home batteries will fit into the future of energy, check out this post from Ramez Naam - "Why Energy Storage is About to Get Big – and Cheap." http://rameznaam.com/2015/04/14/...