Pinterest Lens

Shazam for objects in the real world 📌🔎

get it
#2 Product of the WeekFebruary 09, 2017
+1

Reviews

Discussion

MakersThere are no makers yet
You need to become a Contributor to join the discussion - Find out how.
Ryan Hoover@rrhoover · Founder, Product Hunt
When does Google buy Pinterest? 🤔 Pinterest is sitting on a wealth of data, driven by it's community of 150M+ monthly users, and invested a ton of engineering into classification of photos to power visual search. Compared to Google Image search results, Pinterest is far superior. In a future where more of our interaction with technology is through images, video, and soon augmented reality, Pinterest becomes a huge threat to Google.
Alan Cassinelli@alancassinelli · Director of Marketing at Need/Want
@rrhoover Pinterest seems like the perfect evolution of Google image search - which hasn't seen much product development in years. An acquisition makes a lot of sense. Does Alphabet have a 'P' company yet? :)
@alancassinelli @rrhoover Yes there is, Google Patents (patents.google.com)
Sandro Jazzar@sandrojazzar · Co-Founder, Shababeek
@rrhoover or, When does Snap buy Pinterest?
Leeyen Rogers@leeyenrogers · VP of Marketing, JotForm
@sandrojazzar @rrhoover Snap's features are being successfully replicated by Instagram. I predict that Pinterest will be the bigger player
Richart Ruddie@richartruddie · Internet Entrepeneur who makes cool stuf
@rrhoover @SarahTavel Interested to hear your thoughts on this?
Sarah Tavel@sarahtavel · partner, greylock
@richartruddie @rrhoover don't see how SNAP could afford Pinterest :P
Richart Ruddie@richartruddie · Internet Entrepeneur who makes cool stuf
@sarahtavel @rrhoover Not yet at least....
Patrick Dugan@doog · Product Designer, Quora
@rrhoover that is one hot take.
Ben Tossell@bentossell · Partner https://theupstarters.co/
This is what I thought Snapchat would do, with some things. As a camera company, intrigued to see if this would be their path too
Niv DrorHiring@nivo0o0 · Words @ProductHunt & @AngelList
@bentossell you said you was offline ☝️
Aidan Wolf@aidan · I make apps.
@nivo0o0 @bentossell #ohshit #ohnoyoudinnit #putemup #throwdown #dedass #dramaalert
Ben Tossell@bentossell · Partner https://theupstarters.co/
@nivo0o0 technically NEVER offline 🙄 But am toning down to 'casual internet browsing' at 8pm
Rick Chen@rick_chen1 · making people lazy at instantaccess.io
@bentossell A camera company 😑😑 I stilldon't know how I feel about this.
Pierre-Marie Galite
Hunter
@tsunaze · entrepreneur, mobile developer/advisor
This is really something interesting: just point & shoot at something and Pinterest will try to get the best related items, searching through its giant image database. A simple example would be with clothes, you find something you like and want to re-create the same style, Lens is here for you! There is an article on The Verge : http://www.theverge.com/2017/2/8...
Abhishek Mishra@abhi_shek1994 · Founder: Outr
@tsunaze when will pinterest launch this?
Pierre-Marie Galite
Hunter
@tsunaze · entrepreneur, mobile developer/advisor
@abhi_shek1994 I think it's starting to roll out
Neenu Jacob@neenu_jacob
@tsunaze Hi Pierre-Marie, love Pinterest Lens. Here's something in the same vein that we've built http://get-hook.com/, a fashion discovery app that let's you search, most importantly 'Snap & Search'. I think, the big difference is, that we bring back live shoppable links. Would be great to know what you think about Hook. http://wwd.com/business-news/tec...
Steven Ramkumar@steven_ramkumar
@abhi_shek1994 @tsunaze we launched yesterday in Beta on iOS and Android, we'll start rolling out to everyone in the next coming weeks.
Brandon Mowat@brandonmowat · Engineering @ Ada Support
Pinterest is probably one of the most underrated tech companies. People need to give them waaaaaay more credit. They do some amazing work.
Leeyen Rogers@leeyenrogers · VP of Marketing, JotForm
@brandonmowat 100% agree.
Naomi Assaraf@nassaraf · CMO, Technophile, pancake lover.
**Warning: I'm about to geek out.** Did Pinterest just become an automated Jelly app meets Google search? I absolutely love it. Language barriers will be cut down drastically as AI can figure out what we were thinking of, and provide us with the right information we want. I'm actually talking about this at the @WorldCommForum in March. While this is a step in the right direction, I think it can get even more granular with companies like @neurable and advances like #neuraldust. Maybe we should look at conversations around: Is it OK that language be replaced by thought? What are the communication impacts of AI? Can we become Superhuman if we incorporate #AI into our bodies? Clearly this is just an image to search app, but have no doubt that this just put Pinterest on the #AI map in the same way that @PokemonGoApp did for #AR. I'm thoroughly impressed.
Eon@eonpilot · Swift dev @ eon.codes
@nassaraf AI conferences are 👌 no humans allowed though 😛
Naomi Assaraf@nassaraf · CMO, Technophile, pancake lover.
@eonpilot How about hybrids? ;)
Dulitha Wijewantha@dulitharw · Founder of Alakazam 🔮
@nassaraf this is really an interesting idea. I have been looking into how this would impact the AI landscape. One of he biggest barriers to this is that human cognition and process changes wildly among different cultures. And I guess that's the beauty of it. What we need is not thought to thought communication but better tools for our brains to directly plug into for data and communicate humanely 🙌