Comments on “Netflix Offline
Niv Dror@nivo0o0 · Writer/Social Editor @ProductHunt
Netflix Board Meeting Minutes: 2006: Should we launch video streaming? 🤔 2007: We successfully launched video streaming ✅ 2008: Should we enable offline viewing? 🤔 2009: We should enable offline viewing ❌ 2010: We should enable offline viewing... ❌ 2011: Our customers want offline viewing ❌ 2012: Our customers really want offline viewing ❌ 2013: Offline … See more
Andrey Yanovskiy@andreyyanovskiy · Designer
@nivo0o0 I think it's because it's hard to stream 4K video :)
Rene Pot@wraldpyk · Founder of Hip.Coffee
@andreyyanovskiy @nivo0o0 pretty sure competition forced them. Streaming or downloading requires the same amount of bandwith
@andreyyanovskiy @nivo0o0 Well, I don't think a lot of 4k videos will fit into an iDevice
Andrey Yanovskiy@andreyyanovskiy · Designer
@iduuck @nivo0o0 oh, so it's for iOS/Android... then it's much simpler — download at home over WiFi — watch on a commute
Frad Lee@fradser
@andreyyanovskiy @nivo0o0 iPhone 7 Plus 1080p 😂
Joshua Pinter@joshuapinter · Product Dev at CNTRAL. Maker of ntwrk.
@wraldpyk @andreyyanovskiy @nivo0o0 Yeah, they require the same amount of total bandwidth but not the same amount of bandwidth per second. I think his point is that downloading 4K doesn't require you to have a sufficiently fast bandwidth, where as streaming it does.
Pietz Prove@gopietz · Media Computer Science Student
@andreyyanovskiy @nivo0o0 i think your internet connection is slower than mine :)
Justin White@jwhiteux · Art Director
@joshuapinter @wraldpyk @andreyyanovskiy @nivo0o0 lol.. You actually had to explain that? We're doomed.
Gene Fan@0x11ff · CEO, SECUR1TY.com
@nivo0o0 First up, the complete (Netflix collection of) Pedro Almodovar movies:)
Zack Bloom@zackbloom · Engineering Manager, Cloudflare
@nivo0o0 Having worked at Hulu, I'm convinced it was 100% a licensing and rights issue. Copyrights can be infinitely subdivided, meaning Netflix may have had 'streaming' rights, but not 'offline caching' rights. Yes, even on content they produced.
Fraser Smith@frassmith · Software Developer, Shanghai, China
@nivo0o0 2017: Thoughts on offline viewing for the desktop? ❌
Jason Salas@jasonsalas · Product Director
@zackbloom Interesting...
Mac Aficionados@macaficionados · Founder, Mac Aficionados
@andreyyanovskiy I think it's because Amazon Prime Video is on it's way outside of the USA 😉
Florin Muresan@florin_muresan · Mentor and Speaker at Startup Events.
@zackbloom @nivo0o0 I agree. It's also what I think. People don't realize it, but licenses and rights are the reason why MOST great things are locked to the world.