Google Home

Google's Alexa competitor, an in-home voice assistant

#2 Product of the WeekMay 18, 2016
+1

Google Home is your home assistant, controlled by your voice. You can ask whatever is on your mind from playing some music, or just a curious question to some hands-free shopping. It will be glad to assist you and your needs. It comes in three different sizes and four colors to match your interior and pairs with your smart home.

Reviews

  • Alex SopinkaCTO, Obie.ai
    Pros: 

    Easy to set up, fun to use with a futuristic feel to your house, control Wemo smart lighting

    Cons: 

    Can't add more than one calendar (yet), some functions crippled in Canada

    Best part for me: coming home at night, I can just shout at my Google Home to turn on the lights instead of stumbling around in the dark looking for the light switch!

  • Trevor EllestadPR & Advocacy Supervisor, Vega
    Pros: 

    simple, sleek, and it works!

    Cons: 

    playing music with google home still seems a little janky

    Kinda feels like living in the future!

    Trevor Ellestad has used this product for one month.

Discussion

MakersThere are no makers yet
You need to become a Contributor to join the discussion - Find out how.
Ben Tossell@bentossell · Partner, The Upstarters
Who will be the first to get Alexa and Google home to have a conversation?
Simon Burns@realsimonburns · Growth at Opendoor
@bentossell Viral video countdown stars now...
Andreas Duess@andreasduess · CCO, Nourish Food Marketing
Tom Parish@tparish · VP Marketing
@bentossell good one Ben. And when that happens, what will they learn from each other. Fascinating thought.
Ryan HooverHunterPro@rrhoover · Founder, Product Hunt
Rumors are true. I'm currently watching the livestream, details unfolding now.
Daniel Lee@dleesta · Product Manager
@rrhoover Powered by Google Assistant?
Ryan HooverHunterPro@rrhoover · Founder, Product Hunt
Cheaper than I expected
Calum Webb@calum_webb
@rrhoover Cheers Ryan!
Ryan HooverHunterPro@rrhoover · Founder, Product Hunt
Launch partners:
vipul mishraHiring@vm4canvasflip · Co-founder & CEO, CanvasFlip.com
@rrhoover Interesting. 4 out of these partners are from India.. :)
Niv DrorHiring@nivo0o0 · Words @ProductHunt & @AngelList
it's thinking
Andrew Richard@basictechy · Software Engineer and Machine learning
@nivo0o0 #lol google home is doing some deep machine learning algorithm to turn on the light, loving the colors
Alex Shak@alexshak · Creative Manager
@nivo0o0 Audience testing showed that HAL9000 would have looked much friendlier if he'd gone for a spectrum of four dots.
Adam Loving@adamloving · Developer
I wish it was also a lava lamp.
Ben Lang@benln · Spoke
Nice URL guessing work @jackdweck, very impressive 👌 https://twitter.com/jackdweck/st...