Google Home

Google's Alexa competitor, an in-home voice assistant

#2 Product of the WeekMay 18, 2016
+1

Google Home is your home assistant, controlled by your voice. You can ask whatever is on your mind from playing some music, or just a curious question to some hands-free shopping. It will be glad to assist you and your needs. It comes in three different sizes and four colors to match your interior and pairs with your smart home.

Reviews

  • 247543
    Şerban CârjanUI developer
    Pros: 

    Quick & easy setup, nice design, decent sound quality.

    Cons: 

    No multiple profiles, no voice recognition, often fails to understand commands.

    I've actually had it for several months. I didn't get to play around with it too much, but for now its main use is with Google Music. I ask it to play songs, bands, albums or just generic stuff like "saturday morning music" and it's pretty good at it. I also ask it the weather, I occasionally set reminders on it and once or twice I set a countdown. I guess I'm not yet accustomed to it being there.

    Şerban Cârjan has used this product for one month.
  • 419588
    Alex SopinkaCoder. Taco Lover. Obie.ai
    Pros: 

    Easy to set up, fun to use with a futuristic feel to your house, control Wemo smart lighting

    Cons: 

    Can't add more than one calendar (yet), some functions crippled in Canada

    Best part for me: coming home at night, I can just shout at my Google Home to turn on the lights instead of stumbling around in the dark looking for the light switch!

Discussion

MakersThere are no makers yet
You need to become a Contributor to join the discussion - Find out how.
Ben Tossell@bentossell · newCo
Who will be the first to get Alexa and Google home to have a conversation?
16891
Simon Burns@realsimonburns · Growth at Opendoor
@bentossell Viral video countdown stars now...
335401
Andreas Duess@andreasduess · CCO, Nourish Food Marketing
309981
Tom Parish@tparish · VP Marketing
@bentossell good one Ben. And when that happens, what will they learn from each other. Fascinating thought.
Ryan HooverHunterPro@rrhoover · Founder, Product Hunt
Rumors are true. I'm currently watching the livestream, details unfolding now.
79624
Daniel Lee@dleesta · Product Manager
@rrhoover Powered by Google Assistant?
Ryan HooverHunterPro@rrhoover · Founder, Product Hunt
Cheaper than I expected
514245
Calum Webb@calum_webb
@rrhoover Cheers Ryan!
Ryan HooverHunterPro@rrhoover · Founder, Product Hunt
Launch partners:
181859
vipul mishraHiring@vm4canvasflip · Co-founder & CEO, CanvasFlip.com
@rrhoover Interesting. 4 out of these partners are from India.. :)
946
Niv DrorHiring@nivo0o0 · VC at Shrug Capital
it's thinking
502260
Andrew Richard@basictechy · Software Engineer and Machine learning
@nivo0o0 #lol google home is doing some deep machine learning algorithm to turn on the light, loving the colors
233760
Alex Shak@alexshak · Creative Manager
@nivo0o0 Audience testing showed that HAL9000 would have looked much friendlier if he'd gone for a spectrum of four dots.
24969
Adam Loving@adamloving · Developer
I wish it was also a lava lamp.
1880
Ben Lang@benln · Shipping
Nice URL guessing work @jackdweck, very impressive 👌 https://twitter.com/jackdweck/st...