Comments on “Google Allo
Mark Chang@mchang · Product Manager, Google
We're rolling this out as quickly as we can!
Abishek Muthian@heavyinfo · CEO, TIMEBENDER TECHNOLOGIES
@mchang Congratulations ! It would be great if you could open up API to business to directly chat with customers when they ask GA about a product. http://imgur.com/a/wZYnU
James Campbell@jcampbell_05 · Founder, Bottr.co
@mchang Let me know when it's in the UK. Building a bot based startup and super interested.
Chris Thomson@chris_thomson1
@mchang Been playing around playing around for a few hours. So far so good. Getting great results from Assistant and good smart predictions too. I did get a random "action_result" result while talking to the assistant, though. Not too interested about SMS support. Haven't sent an SMS in yearrrs. Probably the biggest thing on my wish-list is a web app. I do… See more
Venkatesh Thallam@vthallam · Founder @ Jobsplane
@mchang This looks great. Are you planning to build GIF's into the app? if not you should build, they are fun.
Chris Thomson@chris_thomson1
@vthallam It supports GIFs if you have them on your phone or use a keyboard that can search them. But yes, would be good if the app could search GIFs too :)
Mickey Bennet@werewookiee · Engineer, Global Sanchez Inc.
@mchang So far, I love it! When I ask assistant about herself, after answering, it'll ask me back, but whatever I answer, it will respond "I don't think that answers the question"
@mchang I look forward to the day that there's a desktop client. Until then it's Hangouts for me and my friends 🙁 (edit: maybe add the features to Hangouts?)
Julian Praest@julian_praest · joolean.io - Design + Inf. Syst. student
@mchang Excited to see how the growth strategy and the user acquisition process to reach a "critical mass" is planned out - competing against the valuable network externalities/effects of existing, competing messaging applications; Allo is probably going to rely on the integration of other Google products, such as the Gboard's image/Gif searching functionali… See more
Onutz Verde@utestme · ICT Marketing Manager
@chris_thomson1 GBoard
Rakesh Mohan@rakeshvihan · Android developer
@vthallam @mchang Yeah. And at the same time expecting the image share option on image suggestions by google assitance
Abdul Umer@abdulumer_ · Channel Marketing Manager
@heavyinfo @mchang Think API.AI acquisition ;) - I'd say what you're recommending is being experimented with now.
Nick Budidharma@nickbudi · Designer
@mchang I would love to use this as my main messaging app, but non-allo users aren't receiving my SMS messages, and I'm unable to set Allo as my default SMS app :(
Some Guy@ghobs91 · Head Of Winging It, Denarri
@mchang What was your team's logic for not integrating sms fallback into threads the way iMessage does it? Without that functionality, this is just another chat app that people have to convince their friends to install. I'm honestly baffled by the decision.
Leonel More@leonelmore · Build your product with us: 1950labs.com
@mchang can I do something to get early access?
Leonel More@leonelmore · Build your product with us: 1950labs.com
@kanyesboy @heavyinfo @mchang indeed ;)
Pedro A. Wunderlich@pddro · Designer, founder from Guatemala.
@mchang Pretty impressive that all the animations on the website are done by code. Great work. Can't wait for this to roll out in Latin America.
Paul Kemp@paul_s_kemp · The App Guy Podcast
@mchang thanks for building another great app. Soon, my iphone will have more useful Google apps on it than Apple's own native apps.
Seth Rubenstein@sethrubenstein · Lead Developer, Pew Research Center
@mchang Loving Allo so far... but seriously we need proper gif search and insert mechanism. Also letting Allo be our default SMS client would be nice to not have YET ANOTHER messaging app to interface with. iMessage's success isn't some mystery. Its because they seamlessly integrated SMS and Chat into one app.
Steve Caldwell@stevecaldwell · CEO, Strap
@mchang Any tricks to getting certain actions to work? Seems like alarms, etc aren't performing as advertised.  See more
Amit Fulay@amitfulay · Product, Google
@stevecaldwell set alarm works on android, not iOS