Featured

beme

Share video, honestly. A new app by Casey Neistat.

DiscussionYou need to become a Contributor to join the discussion - Find out how.
Ryan Hoover@rrhoover · Founder, Product Hunt
I love love love @caseyneistat's Snapchat feed, YouTube videos, and Vine videos. It's interesting to see him (a "new media celeb") move into product. I have yet to try the app but it's clear that it's focusing on participation (something @benrbn from Meerkat has talked a lot about and demonstrated with their launch of Cameo. Here's another article about the app by @MikeIsaac in the NYT.
Ben Rubin@benrbn · Co-founder, Life On Air Inc
@rrhoover I wish I could get in and play with it :-) Beme is trying to create a new habit, and usually that's a key for building a meaningful medium. Can't wait to play with it!
jonas@jnsdls · Yeah, I don't know either.
@benrbn @rrhoover Ben, you got that invite yet, otherwise I'll happily DM you one on twitter?
Ben Rubin@benrbn · Co-founder, Life On Air Inc
@sleinadsanoj yeah please do me Thank U!
Joe Ringenberg@jringenberg · Director of Design, Wistia
@rrhoover Thanks for capturing this! I wonder if they tried other interactions - the two-hand requirement is definitely a weak spot, and an accessibility woe. Perhaps something like the 'kudos' hover target on Svbtle? Though you need the ability to tap to get the rapid fire multi-reactions (I assume that's what we're seeing here).
Josh Cohen@jshchnz · Co-Founder, ThnkDev
@sleinadsanoj @rrhoover Anyone have an extra invite?
Justin Jackson@mijustin · MegaMaker
@rrhoover just tried it out. You definitely have to watch the video above to figure out the basics. Not intuitive out of the box. I'm `mijustin` if anyone wants to hang out!
Rananava@rananava
@mijustin @rrhoover hey Justin.. Would love to try it out if you have an invite code!
Christopher Su@nitrogen · UW CSE. Formerly Google, Msft, Cisco.
@sleinadsanoj @rrhoover Anyone else have any invites?
Guntram Bechtold@guntrambechtold · Project Manager
@rananava @rrhoover Hey Justin, anyone invites left?
Bram Kanstein (@bramk)@bramk · Creator of @startupstash
I want in!! 😩
Emiel Janson
Hunter
@emieljanson · Designer, Blendle
@bramk I'll send you an invite.
Jackson Deane@jacksondeane · Head of Product @ [Pre-launch Startup]
@emieljanson @bramk Any chance I can get a code as well? (username same as twitter)
Olivier Alcouffe@olivalcf · Webmarketing
@bramk I will love to give it a try also same handle than my Twitter
Joe Ringenberg@jringenberg · Director of Design, Wistia
@emieljanson @bramk Not to turn this into an invite train... but....may I please get on the invite train?
Hunter Hammonds@hunterhammonds
@emieljanson Would love to grab an invite, I've been wanting to play with this for months. (@hunter2d)
Rodney Rumford@rumford · Co-founder of HipGif & Product Manager
@bramk any chance i could get one too. looks really interesting. @rumford on twitter
Mario Hall@nadomars · Co-Founder / Designer @CymbalFM
@bramk got an invite, ignore me please!
Mark Donne@mark_donne
@bramk jumping in on the invite train if that is cool... @darkmonne on twitter
Julien Gomez@juliengomez · Founder, EEWORX
@emieljanson may I have an invite top? Same username as my Twitter. Thx thx thx
Zach Whelchel@zachwhelchel · Napkn
@bramk I can haz invite too someone?
Braden Hamm@bradenhamm · Designer / Founder Gumwall.com
@zachwhelchel @bramk I would love an invite too. Hope there's not a limit ;)
Oliver Pantelides@oli_pantelides · Founder & CEO, jpeMEDIA
@bramk same here I would love to try it out!!
Nikita Korotaev@nikitakorotaev · Incubating products @ Glocal Partners
Kind people, mind send one more invite to your friend:)
Spencer Yen@spenciefy · @ columbia university
@bramk share the invites :) one more?
Oliver Dumoulin@oliverdumoulin · Design @priceline
@mark_donne shoot me an invite when you get on?
Owen Williams@ow · Digital Director at VanMoof
Have been trying this for the last hour or so and am finding it hopelessly addictive. I think the app will do well - it really just forces you to share the raw moment without the normal positioning that comes with social media. I was skeptical, but the app blew me away. A quick look: http://thenextweb.com/apps/2015/...
Emiel Janson
Hunter
@emieljanson · Designer, Blendle
@ow I was just about to add your article. 👊
Owen Williams@ow · Digital Director at VanMoof
@emieljanson @ow 🙏
Thomas Griffin@thomasle0n · CEO, ArtSquare
@ow I assume you know how the invites work?
Owen Williams@ow · Digital Director at VanMoof
@thomasle0n @ow Yeah, the invites are either a queue, or if you know someone you can get a code. Even Casey admitted it's a pain, but I can see how they're using it to try and grow.
Ouriel Ohayon@ourielohayon · appsfire, CEO/ isai (VC) co-founder
@ow seems very original. interested to see if people get used to it.
Ryan Holiday@ryanholiday · Author, Ego is the Enemy
Have been on for about 3 weeks and am an advisor. Can send codes to a handful of people/friends if you want to email me.
kevinfischer@kevinfischer · Designer
@ryanholiday what email address should we email?
kevinfischer@kevinfischer · Designer
@ryanholiday got a code. Thanks anyways!!
michael@michael_mclean · spartan
@ryanholiday need that email first 😛
Amanda Hill@amphotostudio · Photographer & Social Media Strategist
@ryanholiday I'd love a code! Email?
Jackson Dahl@jacksondahl · Lowercase Capital
@kevinfischer you have any invites? 😁
Raad Ahmed ⚔@r44d · Founder/CEO, LawTrades
@ryanholiday just shot you an email :)
Oliver Pantelides@oli_pantelides · Founder & CEO, jpeMEDIA
@ryanholiday any chance of a code would love to try it out
Michelle TG Senn@michelle_tg_senn
@ryanholiday uh... I'd like to try!
Jack Shalom@jeshalom · CEO, Giffage
@ryanholiday can you send over a code please?
✨ david hoogland@david_hoogland · Founder of Moonbase Co.
@ryanholiday have you got any invites left. Would love to try it out.
Prateek Sharma@prateeks · Co-founder, mygola
@kevinfischer would love to get an access code. Any left?
kevinfischer@kevinfischer · Designer
@prateeks interestingly enough the app signed me out and I can no longer sign in. Sorry.
Justin Krup@jkrup · Founder, BOKUGA
@ryanholiday Hey! Would love an invite to Beme if you're still able to give them out. Thanks!
Rob Dyson@rdyson · CTO, Willing
@ryanholiday Hey Ryan! Beme looks intriguing. Would love a code. Thanks!
Geet Khosla@geetkhosla · Family, Health and Entrepreneurship.
@ryanholiday just sent you and email.
jake duncan ☕️@jkdncn · two-way dual-language bilingual educator
@ryanholiday Can I still beg for an invite code here? I'm a high school video technology teacher interested in sharing with my students.
Bryce Daniel@bryceoflife · Co-Founder & CEO @ Nubko
@geetkhosla any way you could shoot a code my way? Would be so grateful. @BryceofLife on Twitter
Yuriy Romanyukha@rmnh · Founder @JETME
@ryanholiday can you pls, send me a code
Maxime Defauw@maximedefauw · maximedefauw.com
@ryanholiday Hi! Do you have one left? Would love to get one! 😀
Adam O'Kane@adamokane · product strategist & writer
It's early to make too many big statements about this product and how it could fit into the social landscape, but one thing I like is that it's so distinctly a product by Casey Neistat. The voice and aesthetics are so uniquely him. I don't say that to minimize beme's team's contributions and hard work, but it just brings to mind his videos and individual style. The other thing I want to give them props for is their unique UI. It'll take a bit before it can really be judged, but they should get credit for building something totally new, and not leaning too much on the UI of existing apps.