Apple TV Remote

An app to control your Apple TV with your iPhone and Siri

#4 Product of the DayAugust 02, 2016

Reviews

Discussion

MakersThere are no makers yet
You need to become a Contributor to join the discussion - Find out how.
Niv Dror@nivo0o0 · Words @ProductHunt & @AngelList
I believe the new TV app's shade of black is called "update loading"
Joshua Dronen@joshuadronen · Engineer, GE
@nivo0o0 haha looks like it
Praval Singh@praval · Product / Marketing Guy at Zoho.com
@nivo0o0 Hey, what's that Twitter Beta app?! How does one get it!
Ben Tossell@bentossell · Something new
Times I've lost the apple remote = countless Times I've lost an app = zero Woohoo 🙌
Gabriel Lewis
Hunter
@gabriel__lewis · 🤔
Apple just released a separate remote app from their original one, but now with a focus on controlling the Apple TV. Make sense, the Siri remote is great, but easily lost. I wonder why they hadn't built this when they launched the product. 🤔
Andrew Ettinger@andrewett · PMM @ Twitter, Previously @ Product Hunt
@gabriel__lewis They've always had the "Remote" app. This appears to be slightly rebranded, but a similar app.
Gabriel Lewis
Hunter
@gabriel__lewis · 🤔
@andrewett This is an entirely new app, the old remote app is still available in the App Store https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/...
Tom Flemming@tflemming
▲ volume?! ▼
John Tan@john_tans · Growth & Marketing Technology
@tomflemming does anyone know if the volume exists in the app?!
Roberto Mateu@rmateu · 5typos.com
Disappointed, somehow I had expected the remote app to offer audio streaming: similar to the Roku physical remote.
Jared Rauh@jaredrauh · Senior Product Designer
@rmateu I've been hoping for the same thing! Surprised they didn't include this.
Anthony Rossbach@anthonyrossbach · CEO of NodeHost Hosting
@jaredrauh @rmateu The problem is delay, unless they control the network they can't guarantee there won't be a delay, so it is not best for that kind of use when watching something. Direct remotes like the Roku talk ONLY to the box and directly so the network is controlled and any lag can be accounted for. This is also why video won't show on the iPad or iPhone when using airplay sending video content, because it is bundled the video and audio as one so that the HD stream is in sync with the audio at all times. Where display sharing is in a lower adaptive quality to lower lag as best it can so that the 2 screens are not hugely different. It's quality and delay, it would be nice and who knows they might add it. Would need a new iOS update for support for bluetooth streaming to the app instead of over Wifi to remove delay, but as the app is not bundled it would need new app API's for this feature.