Amazon Prime Rewards Card

Get 5% cashback on all Amazon purchases 💳

get it
#2 Product of the DayJanuary 12, 2017

Reviews

3959
16567
 
  • 16567
    Michael MusgroveMarketing guy.
    Pros: 

    The discounts offered and ability to earn points to use on Amazon purchases saves a ton of $ on Amazon and elsewhere.

    Cons: 

    The interest rate isn't anything to get excited about.

    I've saved hundreds of dollars using this card. You can make it your default card on Amazon and also use it for gas, groceries and other common purchases to get significant discounts over time. The trick is to keep the balance at 0 because the interest rate isn't great. I've never gotten excited about a credit card but this one is really great, since I shop on Amazon a LOT and that's 5% off, plus the points I earn for using it really add up, to use to buy more junk.

    Michael Musgrove has used this product for one year.

Discussion

MakersThere are no makers yet
You need to become a Contributor to join the discussion - Find out how.
Ryan HooverHunterPro@rrhoover · Founder, Product Hunt
Just saw this on Yahoo Finance. Considering most of my online shopping is on Amazon, 5% is a pretty slick deal. This is also another example of Amazon moving further across and up the commerce funnel.
9212
Jim Carter III@noinput · Cause Hacker
@rrhoover it's a great card, I've had it for about a year at 3% and now 5% is a huge win. Earnings post to your Amazon account seamlessly and you can apply them at checkout like a payment method.
@noinput That's sounds great!
177598
Eli Laipson@elilaipson
@noinput @rrhoover Is there a monthly cap on what you can make back?
741588
Nate Hurwitz@thenateh · Supply Chain Student, Cyclist
@noinput @elilaipson Looks like there are no caps on any category.
80543
Chris Kalima@ckalima · Product, Intertrust Technologies
I'm curious if the 5% back also applies to AWS bills? In the offer details it says "buying products and services with your card, in most cases, will count as a purchase." If so, this would be a nice way to save 5% on monthly infrastructure costs.
35578
Hameto@hameto_
@ckalima that would be amazing!
165941
Andrei Oprisan@andreioprisan · VP Technology at Liberty Mutual
@ckalima no, it's only for the Amazon store
156998
Jeff Uthaichai@jeffuthaichai · Engineer, Maple
@ckalima I've had the card for years now, and my $0.55 monthly AWS bills (not a big personal AWS user) have gotten the 3x treatment. It's probably safe to assume it'll start getting 5x now.
333018
Tarun Gangwani@tarungangwani · Product, dev.twitch.tv
Protip: if you have the card already and are a prime member, you can upgrade your rewards within your Amazon account: http://amazon.com/wallet?ref_=ya... (select your card, and click "upgrade" or similar)
434
Graham Gnall@ggnall · Product @Dia&Co. Working on Veeps
@tarungangwani looks like mine was automatically updated from Amazon Rewards to Amazon Prime Rewards. Well done.
49952
John Tabone@juantabone · Software Engineer @ Tervela
@ggnall @tarungangwani same! I also noticed that my girlfriend's non-Prime rewards card is eligible to upgrade, BUT you can only have one 5% card attached to each Prime account.
434
Graham Gnall@ggnall · Product @Dia&Co. Working on Veeps
@juantabone @tarungangwani listen to the ecom overlords: get married, combine cards, spend for your growing family on amazon forever. 😹
962
Jack Smith@_jacksmith · Serial Entrepreneur & Startup Adviser
@tarungangwani mine upgraded automagically
333018
Tarun Gangwani@tarungangwani · Product, dev.twitch.tv
@_jacksmith Yes, hearing that as well from folks. Nice, user-centered thing for them to do. Prime has to go down as one of the most important services ever created on the internet.
408475
Jamie Gordon@jamie_ross
USA only sorry Canada, UK, France etc
662651
Jamie Street@jamie452 · Software Engineer
95254
Braunson Yager@braunshizzle · Co-Founder, Geekybeaver, Ripped Recipes
@jamie_ross 😢😢 Such a bummer, why not Canada, we're your neighbor.
168336
Ben Bodien@bbodien · Co-Founder, Positivity Space
@jamie_ross I'd be surprised if they didn't have plans to roll out the card in other major markets with regional card provider partners.
333146
François@francoisrabanel · Bisou internet.
@jamie_ross I'm crying right now. I still tried :)
46949
Thibaut Davoult@thibautdavoult · Growth Engineer at Livestorm
@jamie_ross This is the info I was looking for. Thanks for saving me the research.
946
Niv DrorHiring@nivo0o0 · VC at Shrug Capital
I've used the Amazon Prime Rewards Card for a few years now - love it. Every few months it's nice use the accumulated points for free Amazon purchases 😊 And the new one is 5% instead of the 3%, plus it's metal 😮
269810
Gideon Hod@ghod · Marketplace Product
@nivo0o0 wait if it's metal that changes things
946
Niv DrorHiring@nivo0o0 · VC at Shrug Capital
@ghod BEST FEATURE.
72239
Tony Hue@tonykhue · Product Marketing, Disqus
@nivo0o0 you had me at metal 😍
962
Jack Smith@_jacksmith · Serial Entrepreneur & Startup Adviser
@nivo0o0 why the fuck is it made of metal when it's only usable online on Amazon.com ? what a waste of money lol. the physical card is useless once you add it to your amazon.com account
946
Niv DrorHiring@nivo0o0 · VC at Shrug Capital
@_jacksmith because it's a regular credit card that can be used anywhere............ (this is the only credit card I use)