Matt Mazzeo

Managing Director, Lowercase Capital

THIS CHAT HAPPENED ON October 19, 2015

Discussion

Hi, Product Hunt team! I'm Matt Mazzeo, Managing Director of Lowercase Capital. My partner @sacca and I find, back, and support early stage teams across the startup landscape. We invest across almost every segment. A few of our more recent investments are Mobcrush, Mark43, Dubsmash, Medium, Makespace, InVenture, Digital Genius, Slack, and Next Games in addition to the teams at Uber, Stripe, Twitter, Instagram, and Docker. Before Lowercase, I was an agent at Creative Artists Agency, helping clients at one of the largest entertainement and sports agencies build businesses in tech. Die hard LA Kings and Lakers fan. Part time LA sushi tour guide.
Erik Torenberg@eriktorenberg · Former Product Hunt
What's something you and Sacca disagree on?
Abe Storey@abe_storey · Entrepreneur & Growth Marketer
@mazzeo What is 1 thing that you hate to see founders do/say during an initial VC meeting and 1 thing you love? What advice would you give to your 18 yr old self? Thank you for taking the time do this PHLive today :)
Sydney Liu@sydney_liu_sl · Co-Founder of Commaful.com
Hi Matt! Thanks for doing this AMA! Keep up the awesome tweets and streams (on both Periscope and Meerkat!) As a VC, you have to manage a lot on your plate (from meetings to emails and more!) What are the top 3 hacks that you have discovered? These can be life hacks, productivity hacks, relationship hacks, email hacks, growth hacks, etc. Thanks! Sydney
Jeff Needles@jsneedles · Data @ Houseparty & Maker of Things
@mazzeo How did you feel about being so heavily featured in StartUp season 1? Did you listen back? How did it make you feel? I for one HATE watching/hearing myself... #EphemeralContent #LIVEorNEVER
James Wilsterman@jameswilsterman · Founder @ (925)
For consumer/social products, what stage do you guys like to invest? + Founder with an idea? + Founder with a prototype? + Private beta w/ a 10 - 100 users? + Public / pre-launch beta w/ 100 - 1000 users? + Launched w/ press and traction? For entrepreneurs, which of the above tends to be the right point to take investment?
Harry Stebbings@harrystebbings · Podcast Host @ The Twenty Minute VC
Hi Matt, thanks for joining us today. To what extent does having Chris Sacca enhance the deal flow at LowerCase? Would love to have you on @twentyminutevc big fan following your mention on @abexlumberg Startup!
Jason Mercer@jasoncmercer · co-founder of cooler
@mazzeo for a social startup, what is the minimum level of traction you would need to see in order to take a meeting? Could the product still be in private beta, or would you want to see public product available first?
Kiel Berry@kielberry
VC is a busy world. What do you do to relax or step back to get perspective?
Kamil@kamilszybalski · Growth Entrepreneur. Was @Hootsuitelabs
Hi Matt, wondering what you're currently reading and what's on your bookshelf?
Philip Skogsberg@philip_skogsberg
Hi Matt. What are one or two things entrepreneurs can learn from VCs like yourself (coming from the perspective of being investors and managers etc)?
Daniel Bulygin@bulygind · Co-Founder & Editor @trendblog.net
@mazzeo When looking at two-sided marketplaces, what are the key aspects you look for before investing (1) your time and (2) your money?
Divraj@divraj · divraj.com
@mazzeo how will VR change media / news ? what will be some of the first applications ?
Lyle McKeany@lylemckeany · growth marketer
@mazzeo I like to flip the "What advice would you give your younger self?" question on its head. So, what advice would your younger self give to you today?
Danielle Newnham@daniellenewnham · Founder, The Junto Network. Author
In your experience, what are the biggest similarities / differences between Hollywood and world of tech?
Cody Bierman @codybierman77
@mazzeo Hi Matt, thanks so much for doing this AMA! What do you think we will see go mainstream in our society first: Drones, Bitcoin, or Autonomous Cars? Which one are you most excited for? If you ever have the time, We'd love to have you come speak at General Assembly here in Los Angeles.
neeharika sinha@neeeharika · Google, Threadchannel
Hi @mazzeo great to meet you here. I have 2 questions 1) Whats the story behind the name lowercase capital find it a really clever one. 2) Every startup tries to disrupt an existing industry which one according to you has been able to disrupt the most rigid industry successfully. Thanks!
Justin Scheetz@justinscheetz · Founder, Boxy Studio
@mazzeo Hey Matt! What's the MOST important and LEAST important criteria you look for when deciding to take a new startup under your wing?
Hey @mazzeo thanks for doing this. I have two questions for you: 1) What are your favorite books and tech blogs to read? 2) What investment that you made in the last year are you most excited about?
Ivan Raiklin@ivan_raiklin
@mazzeo best Sushi in San Fran next time I am there and can I buy you dinner?