[AMA] Growing a newsletter and a blog to 2K subscribers and 100K visitors in 2 months

Anne-Laure Le Cunff
52 replies
Hey everyone! 👋 I left Google two years ago to start my own thing, and I'm currently dedicating my time to build products and write content that help makers be happier and healthier while getting things done. Some of my projects include a Chrome extension that reminds you to take mindful breaks, and an online magazine for makers. I'm also a part-time neuroscience student, a certified mental health first aider, and a self-taught coder. Everything I work on is more or less at the intersection of neuroscience and entrepreneurship. 🧠 I just launched my newsletter on Product Hunt today and wanted to take that opportunity to answer any questions you may have about growing an email list. I'm far from being an expert but I've experimented quite a bit with various ways to get traffic and convert it to new subscribers. I've started writing Maker Mind in July and it has grown to 2,300 subscribers and almost 100K visitors, all organically. In my spare time, I like reading (How to Change your Mind by Michael Pollan and The Hidden Life of Trees by Peter Wohlleben are my latest favorites), exploring new countries, trying new wines, eating cheese, and spending time with friends and family. AMA!

Replies

Abadesi
Wow this growth is incredible! Can you tell us what role data plays in improving your newsletter? How much do you tweak things like subject lines, length of the newsletter, how you create links etc, in order to improve open rates and click throughs?
Anne-Laure Le Cunff